13th HiPC Student Research Symposium (SRS)

In Conjunction With



HiPC 2021 will feature the 13th Student Research Symposium on High Performance Computing, Data, and Analytics (HPC) aimed at stimulating and fostering student research, and providing an international forum to highlight student research accomplishments. The symposium will also provide exposure to students in the best practices in HPC in academia and industry.


The symposium will feature student posters and provide students with other enriching experiences, such as workshops, industry exhibits, and demos. The Conference Reception and multiple Student Symposium Poster Exhibit sessions will provide an opportunity for students to interact with HPC researchers and practitioners (and recruiters) from academia and industry.

Awards for Best Poster, sponsored by IEEE Computer Society – Technical Committee on Parallel Processing (TCPP) – will be presented at the symposium. An online book containing the resumes of the students participating in the symposium will be compiled and made available to the sponsors of the HiPC 2021 conference.



Best Posters


  • Parallel Implementations of Arithmetic Encoding on Shared Memory Systems, 
  • Riddhi Tanna, Vishwa Shah, Dishita Thaker, Shruti Agrawal, Bhaskar Chaudhury, Sidharth Kumar
  • HPAM: An 8-bit High-Performance Approximate Multiplier Design for Error Resilient Applications
  • Divy Pandey, Vishesh Mishra, Saurabh Singh, Sagar Satapathy, Babita Jajodia
  • ICM++: Enhancing the Execution Model for Interval-centric Distributed Graph Computation
  • Animesh Baranawal, Varad Kulkarni Vinod, Yogesh Simmhan



Other Accepted Posters


  • A Best Fit Strategic Approach for Sample Selections of a Carrier to Minimizing Quantization Error
  • Virendra Nikam, Sheetal Dhande
  • A Low-storage Runge-Kutta Time Integration Method for Scalable Asynchrony-tolerant Numerical Schemes
  • Shubham Kumar Goswami, Vinod Jacob Matthew, Konduri Aditya
  • Accelerating Checkpoint/Restart with Lossy Methods
  • Athanasios Kastoras, Kevser İldeş, Kai Keller, Leonardo Bautista-Gomez
  • Application Driven Energy Efficiency in Embedded GPUs
  • Akash Sachan, Rakesh Kumar, Bibhas Ghoshal
  • Approximating Communication Systems: Reality or Fantasy?
  • Ish Kool, Alish Kanani, Rajat Bhattacharjya
  • Cardiac Anomaly Detection Models for Wearable Devices
  • Aaptha B V, Ankith B V, Aryan Sharma, Madhura Purnaprajna
  • Characterizing the Performance of Deep Learning Workloads on Accelerated Edge Computing Devices
  • Prashanthi S K, Sai Anuroop Kesanapalli, Aakash Khochare, Yogesh Simmhan
  • GenAlign++ – An Improved Pairwise Compressed DNA Sequence Alignment with GPU-acceleration
  • Aman Sharma, Pallav Baruah
  • Real Time Traffic Sign Recognition for Autonomous Vehicles using deep learning
  • B.S. Ananya, M.D. Nehal Chakravarthy, M.R. Anala
  • Real-Time Edge Analytics of Video Feeds from a UAV Fleet
  • Suman Raj, Harshil Gupta, Yogesh Simmhan, Sougat Shome
  • SYMBIO: Enabling Observability and Adaptivity of High Performance Data Services
  • Srinivasan Ramesh, Allen Malony, Robert Ross, Philip Carns, Matthieu Dorier, Kevin Huck,



Symposium Chairs


Ashok Srinivasan, University of West Florida, USA
Dip Sankar Banerjee, Indian Institute of Technology Jodhpur, India


Technical Program Committee


Ashok Srinivasan (Co-chair), University of West Florida

Dip Banerjee (Co-chair), Indian Institute of Technology  Jodhpur

Vikram Aggarwal, Google
Jayvant Anantpur, Mentor Graphics India Pvt Ltd
Manu Awasthi, Ashoka University
Suren Byna, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Venkatachalam Chandrasekaran, Sri Sathya Sai Institute of Higher Learning
Mainak Chaudhuri, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur
Meysam Ghaffari, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Subramaniam KV, PES University
Dumitrel Loghin, National University of Singapore
Arash Mahyari, Florida Institute for Human and Machine Cognition
Amit Majumdar, University of California San Diego, San Diego Supercomputer Center
Sreepathi Pai, University of Rochester
Madhura Purnaprajna, PES University
Subodh Sharma, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi
Jaya Sreevalsan-Nair, International Institute of Information Technology Bangalore
Parimala Thulasiraman, University of Manitoba
Hemanth Venkateswara, Arizona State University




Write to us at student_symposium [AT] hipc [DOT] org for more details.