## HiPC 2008 Student Research Symposium

## Message from the co-chairs

Welcome to the proceedings of the first Student Research Symposium at HiPC 2008. This symposium replaces the poster sessions that have been held at HiPC for the past several years. The poster exhibits still constitute an important component of the symposium. However, we hope that the additional activities included in the symposium will enhance its value to students who attend it. In particular, the symposium features invited talks by two distinguished experts in the field: Vittal Kini (Intel) and Manish Gupta (IBM). In future years, we expect to include additional activities that will further promote our goal of stimulating and fostering student research, and providing an international forum for highlighting student research accomplishments in the area of high performance computing.

We got off to a good start this year, with 21 high quality extended abstracts accepted from 51 submissions from seven countries. Each manuscript was reviewed by two or three members of our international Technical Program Committee. A separate awards committee will select authors for Best Poster and Best Presentation awards, sponsored by the IEEE Technical Committee on Parallel Processing (TCPP). We summarize below some statistics related to the review process.

Submission Origin	Submissions	Number Accepted
India	43	15
Asia, except India	3	3
North America	3	2
Others (Africa, Australia)	2	1
Total	51	21

We wish to thank a number of people for their help. The Technical Program Committee, listed on the next page, performed a thorough review of the manuscripts within the short turn-around time they were given. P. Sadayappan, the HiPC TPC chair, helped us set up the EDAS conference management system. Avinash Srinivasan, the coordinator of the symposium, helped in putting together the book of resumes. Animesh Pathak was always prompt in updating our web pages, despite the numerous requests that we made. We appreciate his efforts, and also that of Ananth Narayan, who set up the email alias for the symposium. We acknowledge Manisha Gajbe for her help with publicity. We thank the HiPC Steering Committee chair, Viktor K. Prasanna, and the HiPC co-chairs Manish Parashar and Ramamurthy Badrinath for their numerous suggestions in deciding on the format of the symposium. We also appreciate the advice and assistance given by Rajeev D. Muralidhar and Rama Govindaraju. We appreciate the efforts of the Workshops chair, Manimaran Govindarasu, in coordinating with us and putting together a joint proceedings CD. We thank Sushil Prasad, IEEE TCPP chair, for having TCPP sponsor the Best Presentation and Best Poster awards. We thank the invited speakers, Vittal Kini and Manish Gupta, for sparing their valuable time and agreeing to speak at the symposium. Finally, we thank Intel for sponsoring the symposium.

December 2008

Ashok Srinivasan and Rajeev Thakur

## HiPC 2008 Student Research Symposium

## **Technical Program Committee**

1.	Srinivas Aluru,	Iowa State University, USA
2.	Varsha Apte,	Indian Institute of Technology – Bombay, India
3.	David Bader,	Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
4.	Purushotham Bangalore,	University of Alabama, USA
5.	Umesh Bellur,	Indian Institute of Technology – Bombay, India
6.	Rama Govindaraju,	Google, USA
7.	Arobinda Gupta,	Indian Institute of Technology – Kharagpur, India,
8.	Shantenu Jha,	Louisiana State University, USA
9.	Rajeev Raje,	Indian University Purdue University at Indianapolis, USA
10.	Omer Rana,	Cardiff University, UK
11.	Ashok Srinivasan,	Florida State University, USA
12.	Rajeev Thakur,	Argonne National Laboratory, USA