HiPC International Conference On High Performance Computing
About HiPC Steering Committee Sponsors Archive Home HiPC 2003 Home
HiPC 2003 - Bangalore, India - December 17-20
Advance Program
Program Highlights
Author Resources
Poster/Presentation Session
Information for India-Based Participants
Travel and Local Information
Sight Seeing Tour
Conference Organization
Call for Papers


2 :0 0 p m - 6 :0 0 p m
Storage Architectures
Narasimha Reddy
Texas A&M University

Audience: Students, researchers and engineers interested in storage systems and emerging trends in storage system architectures. Anyone with basic computer architecture, storage systems and networking technologies will benefit from the tutorial.

Course Description: This tutorial will present an overview of the changing landscape of storage systems. It will include an overview of traditional storage systems, file systems, the current trends in storage area networks and the emerging technologies of network attached storage systems. The tutorial will highlight the technologies, challenges and the opportunities in the future storage systems. The interaction of networking technologies and storage systems will be discussed. The impact of new applications such as multimedia, wide-area storage, grid computing and storage as a service will be discussed.

Lecturer: Narasimha Reddy is currently an Associate Professor in the department of Electrical Engineering at Texas A&M University. He received M.S. and Ph.D degrees in Computer Engineering from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in May 1987 and August 1990 respectively and a B.Tech. (Hons) degree in Electronics and Electrical Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, India, in August 1985. He was a Research Staff Member at IBM Almaden Research Center in San Jose from Aug. 1990- Aug. 1995.

Reddy's research interests are in Storage Systems, Multimedia, Network and Computer Architecture. Reddy is a member of ACM SIGARCH and is a senior member of IEEE Computer Society. He has received an NSF CAREER award in 1996.

He recieved an Outstanding Professor award at Texas A & M during 1997-98.